National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science and Technology Communication by NCSTC (Ministry of DST, Govt. of India)

  • Swadeshi Science Movement, Kerala chapter of Vijnana Bharati has been bestowed with the prestigious “National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science and Technology Communication” from Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt.of India. This award is given for the relentless efforts by SSM for taking science and technology to the masses.. The Award was presented by Sri. Kapil Sibal, Union Minister for Science and Technology and Earth Science on 1st March, 2007 at Technology Bhavan, New Delhi.

    According to the Department of Science and Technology, Swadeshi Science Movement is the only Organisation selected for this Award by the Committee for its various activities in the field of S & T Communication. This Award consists of a Memento, Citation and Rs.Two Lakh.

    Swadeshi Science Movement has declared to donate this Cash Prize of Two lakhs for the establishment of a “Virtual University” in the name of Nalanda. Nalanda Virtual University will strive to synergize traditional knowledge with modern developments in the fields of Engineering & Technology, Mathematics, Astronomy, Physical Sciences, Philosophy, Culture and Values, Basic and Health Sciences, Environmental studies and Sanskrit & Language Studies. The University will collaborate with various Institutions and Universities.

    Jawaharlal Nehru Prize for Science Popularisation by Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA)

    Swadeshi Science Movement, the Kerala chapter of Vijnana Bharati honoured with the prestigious “Jawaharlal Nehru Prize” for the year 2005-2006 instituted by the Indian Science Congress Association for the popularisation of science. The award includes a cash award of Rs.One lakh and a plaque. The selection board specially appreciated the key role played by Swadeshi science movement for its endeavor for the promotion and popularisation of sciences at all levels, especially among students at shool and college level and for the common man .The selection board also mentioned the efforts of Swadeshi science movement to blend the modern sciences with the traditional ones and the age old socio-cultural and scientific value based system.

    The award was received by Shri. P.N. Subramanian, State President from the Hon’ble Prime Minister on 3rd January, 2006 during the inaugural session of 93rd Indian Science Congress held at Acharya N G Renga Agricultural University, Hyderabad